Subsection 1.- The Royal Canadian Mounted Police*

The Royal Canadian Mounted Police is a Civil Force maintained by the Federal Government. It was organized in 1873 as the North West Mounted Police, with duties confined to what was then known as the North West Territories. By 1904 the work of the Force received signal recognition when the prefix "Royal" was bestowed upon it by His Majesty King Edward VII. In 1905 when Alberta and Saskatchewan were constituted provinces an arrangement was made whereby the Force continued to discharge its duties as formerly, each province making a contribution towards defraying the cost. This arrangement was continued until 1917.

In 1918 the Royal North West Mounted Police was assigned the duty of enforcing Dominion legislation for the whole of Canada west of Port Arthur and Fort William. Soon after the end of World War I an extension of governmental activities made it obvious that the enforcement of Dominion statutes throughout Canada must be the responsibility of a Dominion Force and therefore the jurisdiction of the Royal North West Mounted Police was extended to the whole of Canada early in 1920. In that year the name of the Force was changed to the Royal Canadian Mounted Police and the former Dominion Police with Headquarters at Ottawa, whose duties were largely connected with guarding public buildings in that city and Canadian Government dockyards at Halifax, N.S., and Esquimalt, B.C., was absorbed by the Royal Canadian Mounted Police.

The Force is controlled and administered by a Minister of the Crown (the Minister of Justice). Its Commissioner has the rank and status of a Deputy Minister. Officers are commissioned by the Crown and are selected from serving non-commissioned officers. The Force is divided into 17 Divisions, with 622 detachments distributed over the entire country. Land transportation facilities consist of 1,473 motor vehicles, most of which are fitted with two-way radio sets connecting with wireless stations operated by the Force in both Eastern and Western Canada, including the Quebec-United States boundary area. The Air Division of the Force operates 16 aircraft of various types. The strength of the Force at the end of 1959 was 5,382 officers and men, with a reserve strength of 246. The reserve strength is located chiefly in the larger cities where men can be congregated easily and where instruction can be given in the evenings. The Marine Division, with a strength of about 250 officers and men, operates 70 ships of various kinds, the majority of which are located on the Atlantic and Pacific Coasts and on the Great Lakes. The Personnel Branch of the Force has officers in each Division across the country. Great care is taken in the selection of recruits.

The Royal Canadian Mounted Police is responsible for enforcing federal laws throughout Canada and is specially empowered to deal with infractions against smuggling by sea, land and air. It also enforces the provisions of the Excise Act and is responsible for the suppression of traffic in narcotic drugs. In all, the Force has responsibility in over fifty Federal Government Acts, including the Indian Act. It also assists many departments of the Federal Government in administrative duties and is responsible for the protection of government buildings and property. It is the only police force operating in the Yukon and Northwest Territories. Furthermore it undertakes intelligence and security services for the Federal Government. In addition, agreements have been made with the Provinces of Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba, Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, Prince Edward Island, Newfoundland and British Columbia whereby the services of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police may be secured to enforce provincial laws and the Criminal Code in rural districts upon payment for such services. The agreement with Saskatchewan has been in existence since 1928 and those with the Provinces of Alberta, Manitoba, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia and Prince Edward Island since 1932. The agreements were entered into with the Provinces of Newfoundland and British Columbia in August 1950, and the police forces of those provinces were absorbed by the Royal Canadian Mounted Police. The Force has agreements also for policing 118 district municipalities, cities and towns.

^{*} Revised by the Commissioner of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police, Ottawa.